The Journey Begins

I’ve thought of writing a blog for a while (though I’ll admit I don’t really know what I’m doing), so here goes!

Somewhere in my  20’s I got the travel bug and became a wanderlust, the more different and remote location the better. I’m lucky to have had India, Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, China, Nicaragua, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Botswana, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe amongst others grace my passport over the years, many times before some of these locations were “discovered” by mainstream tourism. Also loved the beauty and culture of the Caribbean, Australia, and Europe, just too many to list! I most often travel with my husband (I’m lucky he shares the same passion) and friends, though sometimes solo.

Any soul searching lesson tells you to find your passion; mine is exploring new places, introducing others to new experiences, and encouraging others to do the same.

This was about 10 years ago but one of my favorite memories. Dusk on the Great Wall outside of Beijing, just before spending the night sleeping ON the Great Wall. Yes, that’s right. As part of a leadership experience with my MBA program at University of Virginia’s Darden School of Business, about 50 of us slept in sleeping bags on the Wall itself. It was freezing, and hard as stone, but an experience like none other. The next morning we got to rappel down the side.

197413_6298190901_617_n

Many have said they enjoy hearing and seeing my adventures, so this is my attempt to share those stories. Thanks for joining me!

“Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.”           -Gustav Flaubert

 

Leave a comment